Mississippi Real Estate Appraisal Board Woolfolk Building suite 701C 501 North West St., Jackson, Mississippi 39201 OR Post Office Box 4915 Jackson, Mississippi 39296 Phone ~ (601) 359-5440

www.mab.ms.gov

Appraiser Intern \$50.00

APPLICATION for APPRAISER INTERN /

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER LICENSING/CERTIFICATION

Applicants must read the "Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act" located on our website and the instructions with this form before completing their application.

> This is not a reciprocal license application. (Type or Print in Ink)

1. LICENSE APPLICATION FOR MISSISSIPPI

[] Appraiser Intern – MAB Regulation Part 1501, Chapter 11

[] Licensed Real Estate Appraiser - Submit your Intern log & Supervisory Appraiser's log verifying 1,000 hours of experience.

[] State Certified Residential Appraiser - Include your log of appraisals verifying 1500 hrs. of experience

[] State Certified General Appraiser - Include your log of appraisals verifying 3000 hrs. of experience

Mr. [] Mrs. [] Miss []

Applicants for Certified General, Certified Residential & the Licensed Appraiser credential must submit their college transcript to MAB

(First)	(Middle)	(Last)
3. RESIDENCE ADDRESS		
(Street)	(City/State)	(Zip – 9 digit if known)
4. BUSINESS ADDRESS		
(Street/PO Box)	(City/State)	(Zip – 9 digit if known)
5. DRIVER'S LICENSE #	SS#	E-mail
BUSINESS PHONE #	HOME PHONE #	FAX#
6. Indicate below if you have been Salesperson in Mississippi or any		e Appraiser or Real Estate Broker o licensed [] I have been licensed
Type of License & #	State(s) where obtained	Valid dates of License



Application Fee:

\$225.00 - License

2. NAME OF APPLICANT

[] RESIDENT [] NON RESIDENT

7. Have you been denied an appraisal license in Mississippi or any other state? If Yes, furnish date, state and type of license denied.

8. Has any license held by you been revoked or suspended in this or any other state? [] Yes [] No (If yes, furnish state of details on separate sheet.)

9. What has been your business or occupation for the past 5 years? Give place where employed for 60 days or more and account for entire time. If self-employed, list nature of business and address.

(Employer)	(Street & Number)	(City/State/Zip)	(From) (Until)
(Employer)	(Street & Number)	(City/State/Zip)	(From) (Until)
(Employer)	(Street & Number)	(City/State/Zip)	(From) (Until)
(Employer)	(Street & Number)	(City/State/Zip)	(From) (Until)
(Employer)	(Street & Number)	(City/State/Zip)	(From) (Until)
not include relativ (Name)		Address) (City)	(State & Zip Code)
(If YES, furnish a	convicted of any criminal off statement of details.)	Felor	
	ptained a judgment against you ates, disposition or if appropria	in any court? [] Yes [] No ate, Petition for Voluntary Bankru	ptcy Schedules and Discharg
13. Are you an An	nerican citizen? [] Yes [] No	If not, how long in U.S.?	
14. Date of Birth(I	Mo./ Day /Yr.) Place of	birth(City) (Cour	nty) (State)
15. How long have	e you been a resident of your p	present state?	
16. Last year, did y	ou file income tax in Mississip	ppi? [] yes [] no (If NO	O, give explanation)
REV. 09/2023 Page 2			

	ses you have c	completed. Submit the origi al college transcript if you a DATE COMPLETED
PPRAISAL cour fied copy & subr al license.	ses you have c nit your officia	al college transcript if you a
PPRAISAL cour fied copy & subr al license.	ses you have c nit your officia	al college transcript if you a
PPRAISAL cour fied copy & subr al license.	ses you have c nit your officia	al college transcript if you a
fied copy & subr ral license.	nit your officia	al college transcript if you a
ISTITUTION	# HRS.	DATE COMPLETED
leges you attende	d & the dates	you attended each one.
te D	ates of Attend	lance Degree
		leges you attended & the dates te Dates of Attenc

APPRAISAL EXPERIENCE REPORTING FORM FOR STATE CERTIFIED APPLICANTS

APPRAISAL HOURS ARE THE ACTUAL HOURS THE APPRAISER WORKED ON EACH APPRAISAL ASSIGNMENT

19. APPRAISALS (Certified Residential) 1,500 hrs. required in no less than 12 months

RESIDENTIAL PROPERTY (1 – 4 units single family)		mum Hrs. Per MAB Rule 2.	2.
Complex	No. Appraisals	Actual Hours	
Non-Complex			
FIELD REVIEWS	No. Field Reviews	Actual Hours	
Complex			
Non-Complex			
DESK REVIEWS	No. Desk Reviews	Actual Hours	
Complex			
Non-Complex			-
			TOTAL RESIDENTIAL HRS.
Appraisal Log Dates : 1st appraisal	last appraisal :		
More than 4 unit Residential	Maximum Hrs. No. Appraisals	Per MAB Rule 2. 1. Actual Hours	
Complex			
Non-Complex			
FIELD REVIEWS	No. Field Reviews	Actual Hours	
Complex			
Non-Complex			
DESK REVIEWS	No. Desk reviews	Actual Hours	
Complex			
Non-Complex			
			TOTAL GENERAL HRS.
Appraisal Log Dates: 1 st appraisal	last appraisal		TOTAL ALL APPRAISALS

20. Applicants for State Certified Licensure must submit copies of appraisals selected from the appraiser's log by MAB for review. The sample appraisal reports must have been prepared since 1991, must be USPAP compliant and in compliance with MAB Rules to be acceptable, and must include at least one complex appraisal utilizing all three approaches from the category being applied for.

AFFIDAVIT

(Read Carefully)

21. The undersigned, in making this application to the Mississippi Real Estate Appraisal Board for permit/license to carry on the business of appraising real estate under the provisions of the Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act of 1990 swears that he or she has read and is thoroughly familiar with the provisions of the Act, and Rule/Regulations issued by the Board and agrees to comply fully with them. The undersigned further swears that all the information given in this application is true and correct to the best of his or her knowledge and belief. It is understood that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosure may be deemed sufficient reason to deny permit or permission to take an examination or to deny licensure or certification after examination or to withhold renewal of or to take an examination or to deny licensure or certification after examination or to withhold renewal of or suspend or revoke a permit/license or certificate issued by the Board. Under Section 73-34-47 all applications maintained in the office of the Board are a matter of public record. Therefore, this application and other information submitted with the application may be reviewed by members of the general public under reasonable rules and regulations established by the Board. I hereby authorize any financial institutions, education institutions or any other agencies, public or private, federal or state, to release any information contained in their files to the Mississippi Real Estate Appraisal Board. I also agree to cooperate fully with any investigation involving possible violations of the Act and Rule/Regulations established by the Board.

Signature	of Applicant	
Subscribed and sworn to before me, thi	is day of	, 20
My Commission expires	(Notary Public)	
(S E A L)	(County)	(State)
22. P	H O T O G R A P H S (Attach Photos Below)	
FULL FACE		PROFILE (SIDE) VIEW
Х		X
2 ¹ / ₂ X 3 ¹ / ₂		2 ¹ / ₂ X 3 ¹ / ₂

PLEDGE/CERTIFICATION

, pursuant to Section 13 and 37 of the

(Print Name)

Ι

Miss. Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act of 1990 (Act), pledge to comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice and generally accepted ethical rules to be observed by a licensed/certified real estate appraiser as directed by the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council and Appraisal Standards Board/Appraiser Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation. I understand that after a public hearing, the Miss. Appraisal Board (Board) may make such modifications in excess of those standards and ethical rules, as the Board deems appropriate for Mississippi.

I also certify that I have read the Act and the Rules/Regulations established by the Board and understand the types of misconduct, as set forth in the Act and Rules/Regulations, for which disciplinary proceedings may be initiated against me as a licensed/certified appraiser. Further, I acknowledge my requirement to disclose, at renewal of my license, any adverse court decision (civil or criminal) in which I was a Defendant, in accordance with M. C. A. §§ 73-34-14 and 35.

(Signature)		
efore me, this day of		, 20
(NOTARY PUBLIC)	(COUNTY)	(STATE)
Advise us below if your office or residence address or telephone numl (office or residence) has changed:		
	efore me, this day of (NOTARY PUBLIC) Advise us below if your offic	Advise us below if your office or residence address or

SUPPLEMENT TO APPLICATION NON-RESIDENT OF MISSISSIPPI

I am a licensed/certified real estate appraiser in the state of ______ and a legal resident of the state of ______ desiring to obtain a Mississippi real estate appraiser license in order to conduct real estate activity within the state as defined in Chapter 32, Title 73, Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated.

As an applicant for a non-resident Mississippi real estate appraiser license, I hereby agree to the following:

By affixing my signature to this document, I am filing a statement of irrevocable consent with the Mississippi Real Estate Appraisal Board that legal actions may be initiated against me in the proper court of any county of Mississippi in which a cause of action may arise or in which the plaintiff may reside by service of process or pleading upon me may be made by delivery of the process or pleading to the Secretary of State of Mississippi, if, in an action against me in a court of Mississippi arising out of my activities as a real estate appraiser in Mississippi, the plaintiff cannot, in the exercise of due diligence, effect personal service upon me. The consent stipulates that the service of process or pleading shall be taken in all courts to be valid and binding as if personal service has been made upon me within the State of Mississippi. I also consent to have any hearings conducted by the Board pursuant to Section 73-34-41, Mississippi Code of 1972 Annotated, at a place designated by the Board.

	(Signature)		
Subscribed and sworn to before me, this day of		, 20	
My Commission expires	(Notary Public)		
(S E A L)	(County) (State)		

MISSISSIPPI APPRAISAL BOARD REAL ESTATE APPRAISER'S AFFIDAVIT FOR LICENSED APPRAISER & CERTIFIED APPRAISER LOGS

ATTACH THIS AFFIDAVIT TO THE LOG SUBMITTED TO MAB

I ______, being the holder of Mississippi Real Estate Appraiser License No. ______, do swear and affirm that each appraisal listed on the appraisal log that I have submitted to the Mississippi Appraisal Board (MAB) is a true and accurate report pertaining to real property, the reports are in compliance with Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP), MAB Rules, per my records, as best as I can account for, my actual hours worked in performance of each appraisal assignment since January 1, 2008 and points prior to January 1, 2008; each was signed by me as a licensed or certified real estate appraiser and are retained in my files.

I understand that if any appraisal listed on my appraisal log which was submitted to the MAB that is not in compliance with USPAP and MAB Rules may be cause for the MAB to suspend or revoke my license.

Signature of Licensee License# _____

NOTARY ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

State of Mississippi

County of _____

Sworn to and subscribed before me on this the _____day of _____, 20____.

Notary Public Signature

(My commission expires ______)

SEAL

APPRAISALS FOR MAB - HOURS FOR APPRAISAL EXPERIENCE CREDIT

All hours are the maximum allowable hours per MAB Rule 2(f.) Appraisers are required to enter the actual hours worked on each appraisal on their log.

COMPLEX APPRAISAL

A narrative or form appraisal report that complies with USPAP Standard Rules 1 & 2 and relies on the three approaches to value, or, has one of the following characteristics: (a) there is no active market of properties similar to the property appraised; (b) there is not adequate data that can be confirmed by the appraiser to be factual and reliable; (c) gross adjustments to comparable sales exceed 25% of their sales price or exceed the trading range found in the market of essentially identical properties; (d) residential property with a contract price that does not fall within the medial sales price of residential property in the market area. (ADDED by MAB):

Examples: a **complex non-residential appraisal (66 hrs.)** may contain any of the following: income capitalization approach; income – expense analysis; building – land residual technique; leased fee – lease hold interest; absorption rate; discounting to present value; highest and best use is not the current use; itemized accrued depreciation; unit-in-place method or quantity survey method in the cost approach; site or vacant land using the allocation method, abstraction method, subdivision development method, or land residual method; appraisal requires the appraiser's use of data obtained from a professional who is not an appraiser; a use of property that has no comparable sales with the same use; a property covered by the Environmental Protection Agency; a conservation easement; an appraisal that requires the before and after values. Other valuations may qualify as determined by MAB.

Examples: **complex residential (24 hrs.)** 1 – 4 unit appraisals are Fannie Mae form 1004/Freddie Mac form 70 that includes the GRM income approach; Fannie Mae form 1025/Freddie Mac form72; Fannie Mae form 1073/ Freddie Mac form 465; Fannie Mae form1075/Freddie Mac form 466; or a narrative report with the same content as any of these forms.

NON-COMPLEX APPRAISAL

A narrative or form report that complies with USPAP Standard Rules 1 & 2 and does not require all three approaches to value to be credible and not misleading and has the following characteristics: (a.) there is an active market of essentially identical properties; (b) adequate factual and reliable data is available and can be confirmed by the appraiser; (c) gross adjustments to comparable sales do not exceed 25% of the sales price of the comparable and does not exceed the trading range found in the market of essentially identical property the contract price falls within the medial sales price of residential properties in the neighborhood of the specific property appraised. (ADDED by MAB) : FIRREA Title XI @ 323.3(d)(3) A regulated institution may presume that

(ADDED by MAB): FIRREA Title XI (@ 525.5(d)(5) A regulated institution may presume that appraisals of 1-to-4 family residential properties <u>are not complex</u>, unless the institution has readily available information that a given appraisal will be complex.

Examples of a **non-complex residential appraisal (12 hrs.)** are Fannie Mae form 1004/Freddie Mac form 70 not including the income approach; **(8 hrs.)** Fannie Mae forms 2055 & 2075; **(4 hrs.)** vacant land or site appraisal using only the sales approach or a narrative report with the same content as any of these forms.

Examples: **non-complex non-residential appraisal (16 hrs.)** would not include all three (3) approaches to value when all three (3) approaches would be applicable for the classification of the property appraised, or, market data was available for all three (3) approaches.

All hours for appraisals are subject to MAB's determination and approval.

COMPETENT APPRAISER

An appraiser is considered to be competent for a specific appraisal assignment when the appraiser is in compliance with the **USPAP COMPETENCY RULE**.

In addition to an appraiser's **general education and experience**, to be competent for a specific appraisal assignment **the appraiser must have experience appraising** the classification of property that is the subject of the appraisal assignment

The appraiser must be **knowledgeable of and recognize the analytical methods** that are applicable for the appraisal assignment.

The appraiser must be **knowledgeable of the nuances of the local market and the supply and demand factors** relating to the specific property in the **geographic area** where the specific property is located.

The appraiser must be **knowledgeable of and in compliance with ALL laws and regulations** that apply to the appraiser or to the assignment. (Fannie Mae; Freddie Mac; FHA/HUD; Title XI FIRREA; a client's written regulations or requirements; etc.) (USPAP AO 30 lines 79-80: An appraiser who unintentionally fails to comply or fails to recognize those assignment conditions violates the COMPETENCY RULE.)

The appraiser must have sufficient <u>factual and reliable data confirmed by the appraiser</u> that is necessary to complete the appraisal assignment to ensure that the appraisal will be credible and not be misleading.