Rule 9 / RECIPROCAL LICENSING INFORMATION

The Mississippi Real Estate Appraisal Board, Rule 9 Reciprocal Licensing Application must be completed in its entirety. Please print clearly to avoid any delays in Licensing. Anything that is left blank or not complete on the application can cause delays in the process of your application. You <u>will receive</u> a fingerprint card and be required to submit a background check after your application has been approved. MAB can accept fingerprint cards if they are completed correctly on a standard Fingerprint card form. NOTE: If card is not completed properly may causes delay in licensing.

NOTE: MAB – No longer charges a fee for the background check

Any Real Estate Appraiser that holds a valid licensed or certification in another states can apply for a Rule 9 - Non-Resident License in Mississippi.

- Complete the Rule 9 Application which can be found in Forms on the website. Rule 9.1(1) The Application Fee in the amount of \$50.00 {Rule 3.4(iii)} is required to process the application.
- Provide a valid readable email address. MAB will communicate important information through email.
- It is required an appraiser be familiar with the Mississippi Real Estate Appraisal Board State Statutes, Laws, and Rules found in License Law on our website. Rule 9.1(3)
 - The Mississippi Appraisal Board can require any applicant applying for Rule 9 to take a State Exam. Rule 9.1
 - Provide documentation from appraiser's home state certifying the appraiser holds a valid license and is in good standing. This must come from your home state and be submitted with the application. Rule 9.1(4) It must be submitted with the application and if not available, will cause delay in the processing of the application. It is not acceptable to have the home state email or mail to MAB. There is no guarantee it is received.
- Provide a proper front full face photo and profile or "side view".
- Complete all Affidavits and certifications which must be notarized.
- After the application has been approved, an approval package will be mailed to the business address provided.
- Fees included with the Non-Resident, Rule 9, are the License Fee in the amount of \$325.00 {73-34-45}, and the National Registry Fee in the amount of \$80.00 {73-34-45(3)(b)}. Both these Fees should be submitted with the documents that will be returned from your approval package.

- All licensed and certified appraisers are required by Rule 5.1 to complete 28 hours of continuing education to include a seven (7) hour USPAP update course.
 - All Education must be Approved by the Board in order to count as CE. It is the appraiser's responsibility to verify that the course taken has been approved by the Mississippi Appraisal Board. Rule 5.2(3)
 - Licensees are instructed to contact the educational provider to verify course has been approved.
 - Non-Resident (Rule 9) Licensee can use their Home State CE taken as long as the CE has been approved by their home state appraisal board.
 - Only copies of the original certificate are acceptable for CE credit
 - Email all CE certificates to <u>info@mab.ms.gov</u>

ANY LICENSED OR CERTIFIED APPRAISER THAT IS NOT IN COMPLIANCE WITH CE BY THEIR EXPIRATION DATE WILL AUTOMATICALLY BE PLACED INACTIVE THE FOLLOWING DAY. THIS INCLUDES BEING PLACED INACTIVE ON THE NATIONAL REGISTRY.